Séwllkwe Exhibition

I noticed that the local gallery in Salmon Arm (Salmon Arm Arts Centre) is holding an open exhibition in November 2022 on the theme of water. Séwllkwe is a Secwepemc word meaning water, and artists of all ages and all backgrounds are welcome to participate. Up to three works can be submitted if size is 24” or less in any direction, or one work if size is above 24” in any direction. I have been thinking about taking out membership with the Arts Centre as it seems to be a major networking facility here in this rural town where I live. The gallery is not large by any means. It was built in 1937 as a post office, but it is local and I have seen some interesting work there. I will apply for membership which is quite cheap – only CAD$15 for a senior. As I can only submit 3 photographs I will probably make a selection from my photomontages. Something to carry forward for SYP, as I should have started that module by the time this exhibition comes around.

One thought on “Séwllkwe Exhibition”

Leave a comment